Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

I read this at the end of February this year, on the recommendation of a good friend’s father.  If this is any indication, I’d say he has great taste.

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

What a wonderful, lovely, thoroughly enjoyable book! This story is a rare and much-needed departure from the mediocrity of most contemporary fiction. The author’s tongue-in-cheek social commentary smacks of a modern Jane Austen, and her well-intentioned but endearingly flawed characters are as comfortable and familiar as those of Alexander McCall Smith.

Simonson gives us a clear-eyed, unapologetic look at how people truly think and interact (in the context of the full spectrum of life experiences), which makes the characters so real and relatable. This is not just a love story, but a story about pursuing happiness despite the deterrent of rigid social rules, fighting for love at all costs, overcoming bigotry, learning who your friends are, discovering your own self, and learning to love your family as they are. This is a tall order for any story, but it was managed with skill and subtlety.

On top of all this warmth-inducing content, the book was excellently written in terms of technique and style.

These are not qualities you often find in one novel. That makes Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand essential reading, in my opinion, and well deserving of a place on anyone’s bookshelf. I plan on buying my own copy after reluctantly returning this one to the library, so that I can read it as many times as I want – and maybe even lend it out to a few trustworthy friends.

I would like to add one thing at this point, which I did not address yet, and that is that I will do my best to avoid including information in my reviews that could be considered a “spoiler.”  If I really just cannot resist revealing key plot points in a review, I will make sure to issue a clear warning in the beginning of the post.  I’ll also try to keep my posts generally inoffensive, but hey, you can’t please everyone.

About Elizabeth M. Lee

I am a compulsive reader, an emerging writer, a musician, an artist, a feminist, and an enthusiastic home cook. My husband and I follow a vegan diet and lifestyle, try to live low-impact, and enjoy a simple life.
This entry was posted in book review, fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

  1. heatherliz says:

    Loved this book and loved your review. It was refreshing wasn’t it, after other contemporary lit I had read (and hated)?
    Thanks for the follow! I’ll be looking forward to reading your reviews too.

    • Thank you! I’m glad you liked both. Don’t go hiking your hopes up too high quite yet, since I just started. :) I thought I’d check out what other book reviewers were up to, and you seem to have similar taste and style, so I want to see more of what you have to say!

  2. Pingback: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry | Elizabeth Editorializes

Got anything to say about that?

