Beneath A Marble Sky

I don’t have a new review yet, but since this is such a fledgling blog, I want to keep the posts flowing freely.  I’ve decided to share a review of Beneath A Marble Sky by John Shors, which I read in February of 2009, because I liked the book so much.  I want to keep my first several reviews mostly positive to avoid alienating anyone right off the bat.  I’ve read some real stinkers, but for now I want to showcase the good ones.  So, here’s a good one!

What a beautiful book. So gracefully written, so emotional without over-doing it; it absorbed me from the first few pages.

There were absolutely some unpleasant situations, but I felt that they were handled as gently and tactfully as possible. They only increased the feeling that the main character/narrator Princess Jahanara was a woman of great strength and integrity.

I loved that there were no loose ends left at the end of the story. This book encapsulated the lives of the people in it, in almost their entirety. The author treated the deaths of those characters who perished with respect and dignity, but did not dwell on their ends, allowing the story to move along smoothly at all times. I enjoy a story in which the reader is allowed to know what happens to all the characters, to read about the later years of those who survived, and to understand that there is a lot more to life than happily-ever-after. This is such a book – it mimics life in that there is no one large conflict to be overcome, after which peace reigns; rather, the author shows that life is one flowing river of strife and blessings, which do manage to balance each other out in one way or another.

Shors is clearly a talented writer, as well as an insightful and wise human being. I would recommend this book to any adult who believes in love and the sacredness of the human spirit.

There you have it.  If you haven’t read this one, I think it’s worth your time – a little history, a dash of culture, and a classy love story.  It would probably make for good summer reading.

By the way, I’ve been linking to the goodreads pages for each book because I think they have good plot summaries and a nice layout for reading other reviews.  Amazon is good for that, too, but each goodreads page also has a link to the book’s Amazon page if you feel inclined to buy it.  Also, this is my not-so-subtle way of trying to encourage other people to use goodreads.  Okay, that’s all for now!

About Elizabeth M. Lee

I love to read, write, and take nature photos. I do other stuff, too.
This entry was posted in book review, fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got anything to say about that?

