So Far in 2012

I have finished another book since my last post, but since my health and my body have been letting me down recently, I have not felt up to writing a review of it.  It would seem that when I don’t feel well, I don’t write well – or I don’t have it in me to write much at all.

I will probably put up another review from the past soon, but in the meantime I thought I would share a visual representation of what I’ve been reading so far this year.  I like to participate in the self-imposed reading challenges on goodreads, and to view my progress, I can view a layout of the cover images from the books I’ve marked as “read” during the challenge.  This challenge runs on the honor system, since it’s possible to change the dates of when you’ve begun and finished reading any particular book.

I can’t imagine it would be very satisfying to pretend you’ve read a certain number of books during a year.  I don’t know what the point of that would be – well, bragging rights, I guess.  I prefer the sense of accomplishment, not to mention the memory of the enjoyment that reading those books gave me.

That’s one reason I like to look at my goodreads challenge page; images of the book covers are an even nicer reminder than a simple list of titles would be.

Here they are, in reverse chronological order:

I’d say that’s a rather eclectic bunch.

One of the fun things about goodreads is that you can actually choose which edition of the book you read, so these images are an accurate representation of what the covers looked like on the copies I had in my possession.  It wouldn’t be as satisfying, otherwise.

Not that I owe anyone an explanation, but the brief run of Harry Potter books in the middle took place during our out-of-state move.  I didn’t think it made sense to have any library books out for the last two weeks or so before relocating.  Then there was a brief (very brief, in fact) period of settling in before I scouted out our new town’s library, so I went to some old tried-and-true books from my personal collection.  It was good to re-read something easy and familiar while we were in the midst of packing and hurrying.

I also read the Hunger Games series, on a borrowed e-reader, during that time.  This leads us to an important piece of wisdom – when the going gets tough, the tough read YA fiction.  Perhaps that’s what I should be doing right now.

About Elizabeth M. Lee

I love to read, write, and take nature photos. I do other stuff, too.
This entry was posted in non-review post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So Far in 2012

  1. americanepali says:

    Tell me more about “Baking Cakes in Kigali”…

    • Ah, yes. You might like that one. :) The main character is married to a man who has something to do with the government, I think he’s an ambassador of sorts. I could be mistaken about that. They are from Tanzania and are living in an apartment building in Rwanda, full of other people from various different places in Africa and around the world – mostly ambassador-type people. She has a cake-making business and makes cakes for different kinds of events that people celebrate in their respective cultures, which is interesting. She teaches another woman how to bake so that she can make her living that way rather than by selling herself, and she helps raise money so that another young couple can get married, which if I remember correctly is a union that is meaningful in the wake of the genocides that everyone is still trying to get over. The author doesn’t tiptoe around the things that have happened and that happen still, the violence and the prejudice, the poverty… but it’s a hopeful book. It’s quite good.

  2. I have been looking for a new book, this list is great!

Got anything to say about that?

