Bram Stoker’s Dracula

Dracula is a book that has been reviewed many times before I ever got to it.  I have never had much of an interest in vampires, so it wasn’t until last year that I had any desire to read the ‘original’ story from whence many vampire tales were sprung.

I did not expect to like it much, so I was surprised by how absorbing and even frightening it was.  Here is my review:

Dracula (first edition cover), Bram Stoker's v...

first edition cover of Dracula
image source: wikipedia

This is really more of a 4.5-star book than 4, but it didn’t quite warrant a full five.  The book was basically excellent.  I did not think I would enjoy reading a story that was all journal entries and letters, but it worked really well.

There were a couple of details that were unclear to me, leaving me confused throughout a great deal of the book whenever those particular issues were discussed, and they were only mostly cleared up by the end of the story.  The end seemed quite abrupt after all that build-up, and seemed to leave a few loose ends.

My biggest issue with this book was the author’s obsession with manliness and femininity.  It was quite sexist the way he continued to assert (through his characters) that a female is too frail to even handle knowing certain things, let alone being in on the action.

Also, the characters who were lauded the most were those who were the most masculine, the most ‘daring,’ ‘fearless,’ strong, impulsive, etc.  He was really harping on these stereotypical gender roles.  I understand that part of that is the era in which the book was written, but a lot of it was the author’s own mentality.

That blatant sexism is really the only thing that kept the book from being absolutely top-notch, however, and I would absolutely overlook that flaw and recommend it to anyone.  It exceeded my expectations.

Dracula is one of the better “classics” that I have read, and I can certainly see myself reading it again someday.

About Elizabeth M. Lee

I am a compulsive reader, an emerging writer, a musician, an artist, a feminist, and an enthusiastic home cook. My husband and I follow a vegan diet and lifestyle, try to live low-impact, and enjoy a simple life.
This entry was posted in book review, fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bram Stoker’s Dracula

  1. Amy says:

    I re-read this book every few years and each time I find something new. I agree the stereotypes in the book can be annoying, and not to dismiss it, but I have to remind myself it’s all part of the time frame in which it was written. I run into this problem with classics every once in a while and always need to remind myself of that. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s a great book to read in the fall.

  2. Pingback: Dracula: Triumph of the Masculine | Bibliofanatique

Got anything to say about that?

